So much to talk about and I’ll skip most of it in favor of curves

So what have I done?  Singapore-Will elaborate later, but a thanks to Deb (coffee, allergy meds, and dopamine?), Elsa (helped me find my classroom and more), Cheng Chit (so much, organization, tour guide, and great help), Char (great suggestions, much to mull over), Shri (best and most helpful roommate ever), the Demaine’s (for the Huffman talk and making me think about different curves again), Patsy (for seriously doing tons of organization and being a workaholic), Eileen-for so much work into making things run smoothly, Joseph-well he puts up with my crap, Miri-some good conversations, Eves and Mark-clarification of sine curvy corrugation issues.  That’s all for now although I’ll feel horribly guilty later for leaving people out.  Wisconsin played with circles, Minneapolis got to see a nonfolding friend Mags and Eric a folding friend.  He was great and I owe him a big thanks.  Now to the folding….soo the Bauhaus circles that  are fantabulous curvy magic were pictured in a presentation by Eric, so I made one (they were also rediscovered by Thoki Yenn).  As is my ilk I quickly got bored with it as such and have been playing with pleating, cutting, pulling apart and collapsing to make sharp defined curves, and changing the shapes (which I brilliantly noticed today, a month later, in the abstract booklet from 50sme, seriously could I be any more oblivious?)  Not all are from circles, and I have a lot of exploration to do to find the limitations.  I will fully state that most likely any tweaking I do to the form has been done and better, but the reality is I don’t want to search out what other people have done until I play myself.  So yes it probably is redundant, but it is a curvy fun redundancy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

