Another Year Another Fold

000_2759 by you.

I just got back from New York.  I arrived Thursday and came back today.  I stayed with Adrienne in Brooklyn in a converted garage.  Like last year I didn’t take classes, because I taught 5 classes and figured there wouldn’t be time.  I missed seeing “Into the Fold” but did get to meet a lot of interesting folks.  Interesting talk with Ray Schamp.  Added a new face to Yaffa, Goran.  Made a “purse.”  Slept little, enjoyed my time thoroughly.  Saw more of NY than usual.  One thing that sometimes gets lost with convention goers is that we are in New York which is a fabulous city and the 4 square blocks around FIT are not where the flavor is.  Harassed a bunch of people smarter than me about curvature and promptly “fired” them for not having the answer to my “sortoff” questions, although they both suggested I harass Erik Demaine which I will be doing as soon as I can craft an email that doesn’t make me feel slow.  My questions arn’t really concise or clear, simply put I don’t understand enough about curved rotation to understand what is going on.  

The people in my box design course did amazing and I was happy that everyone who attended my Labyrnth class understood the technique.  Ben Parker’s work has definately progressed and Joel is now working on busts along with the faces.  The form of the chest was amazing.  Seth has great work and I loved Sipho’s way of displaying models.  Goran has started pulling apart and approaching very organic nifty forms.  Ana Sofia helped me make two large models for the oversized folding challenge (Two thumbs up for Sok) and disappeared before I could say my goodbyes.  Joseph’s perfect piggy “Cleofis” has a lovely spot on my shelf (gracias oh Master JoWu;P.)  Michael was the most adorable child ever.  Brian Chan is still making amazing models and Alexander Soukas had lovely tessellations.  Daniel Kwan is probably the most precise folder ever and has little crease elves helping him.  Philip and Christiane were my first picture in NY and it was of their feet!  

Shoe Love by you.

We took a terrific three hour boat tour on Tuesday, thanks Eric (for everything).  A big thanks to Adrienne for her couch and her roommates tolerance of a squatter.

Adrienne and me 

000_2748 by you.
Ben Parker looking somber on boat
000_2755 by you.
My temporary bedroom and the plexiglass bridge
000_2737 by you.
The happy Wu

Bemused Wu by you.

Goran, Bernie, Joel

Goran

Bernie Peyton

Joel Cooper

Christianne, PCB, Tomohiro

Christiane

PCB

Tomohiro

Ape challenge, Sipho, Ben

Ape challenge.  I adore the pointing laughing monnkey

Sipho

Ben Parker

Oversized folding challenge (Photo also known as “Shri’s Bum”) Ray Schamp

Big folds and Shri's but

Ray Schamp

My exhibit (the blue thing is the curvy thing I wanted to ask questions about)

Me by you.

There were a bunch of things I sadly didn’t get photos of as I was rushing to do this before heading off to teach, so for the pictures I missed sorry and for everyone I had great conversations with thanks.

More photos here http://www.flickr.com/photos/christine42/

The photos are tagged “ousa 2009”

See you next year (maybe)

Thanks,

Christine

4 comments so far

  1. holly on

    hi

  2. electromozzo on

    Как сказал один мудрый еврей – и это пройдёт…
    Всё верно – у нас это не только развлечение, но и работа, следовательно – на моря!!! 🙂

  3. no_fumarxx on

    Огорчен, что давным-давно не стал читать cedison.wordpress.com.

  4. Inonypetant on

    Ваш пост навел меня на думки *ушел много думать* …


Leave a Reply

