Older Origami Tessellation Tests and Modifications of a Curved Corrugation

 

As I never leave anything well enough alone I’ve been playing with a prior test.  “Degrees of Freedom” is testing the rotational capacity of a curved corrugation.  I’m trying to think of an easy way to create an automata to create the nifty curves that can arise when playing with this.  Below the blue piece is an assortment of stuff that peaked my interest, but never got beyond that.  Tests are everywhere, finished pieces rare.

Degrees of Freedom in Blue by you.

Degrees of Freedom in Blue by you.

 

The one I most want to play with is the yellow design.  It was interesting how it collapsed.  The orange piece I liked, it stems from a series of layers I explored in the hexagonal world, but sadly ignored in the square based world.  The main reason I never continued was the number of iterations I would have to do.  The rectangle tess is interesting, because it is very simple.  It is a modification of a basic hex twist.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

