“Takeout” Box Instructions and First Pillow Test

Takeout container version One in vellum by you.Takeout container version two by you.

Takeout container version one in vellum by you.

This is one of those folds that is so simple that I suspect it has to have been designed before. What I really like about it is it’s strength and good use of paper. Its 3 in high and a 3.5 by 3.5 inch. Given that this vellum started out as a regular 8.5×11 cut into a 8.5 inch square I think the space that is kept is great and it is very strong, as demonstrated

As is usual if this has been done before please post applicable information and a link if possible.

Instructions start here

http://www.flickr.com/photos/christine42/3205167722/

Also I am posting a really rough first draft of a pillow based off the Oceania Box. Eric’s comment about made me think about some earlier faux suede I tried tessellating this summer. I think I may have to suck it up and buy some real suede or leather to get the body that I want for the design.

First test "oceania" pillow by you.

The faux suede does not have enough body to hold the separated to curve the pleats. Freehanding the ironing not a good idea. My eyeball isn’t that good. I should sew across the base of the pleats before sewing for assembly. When I bought this I was at an upholstery fabric store. I absolutely loved a vivid turquoise blue leather that I saw, this was bought in place of leather cause of cost. I will play with this more when I have time.

3 comments so far

  1. Mary Lou Reichard on

    I could only get page one for the box, fold the square with 2 diagonals. Wwhere are the rest of the directions?????

    • cedison on

      If you look at the upper right hand side of the screen you can see more pictures in a small box click the next yellow one. They are labeled in order.

  2. Sam's Mistress on

    I absolutely love the takeout container! Its simplicity makes it easy to memorize, and its elegance makes even a scrap of computer paper an eye-catching piece. Thank you so very much for sharing!


Leave a Reply

