Winterland in Wisconsin: A Few Folds and an Old but Not Forgotten Box

So I was in Wisconsin, at Lake Harris. I think winter is the time that we are gifted with seeing a tree’s architecture. The pristine lines don’t err and aim towards the heavens against a backdrop of Robin’s egg blue. The stark Birches and lily white snow were beautiful if bitterly cold. So amidst the joy of grading papers I folded.

Oceania Box-Older box, but one that I still like.   I don’t think I’ve posted it here before.

Oceania Box by you.

Partial Diagram: After step 6 just make a standard masu box. The edge reference for the edge of the box is the first pleat from the edge. Make two. Then pull apart the sections carefully, fanning them out. Make two.

Rough Diagrams for Oceania Box by you.

In Wisconsin I played around with 2d modulars again. Before I post instructions I would like to know if they are already floating out there in the origami ether.   If you recognize them please state who and a link if possible.   I checked out a site moduladia? and a site by a gentleman whose website escapes me at the moment.   So if the designs and or modules look familiar I do appreciate information before I bother trying to diagram.

Some Modulars made in Wisconsin by you.

Last thing  from the cold northwoods is a tessellation.   Was originally going to do a mask , but sadly that, as usual, was pushed to the side.  So here it is backlit.

Kaleidoscopic by you.


Hope you all have a safe and happy new year.

3 comments so far

  1. Joan Michaels Paque on

    Hi Christine,

    Happy 2009 and much appreciation
    for sharing all your creative efforts.

    JMP

    • cedison on

      Thanks Joan,

      Health and happiness to you also and a productive new year.

      Christine

  2. Brian on

    The Oceania box is amazingly simple and really beautiful. It really comes alive when you spread the pleats out at the very end. Thanks for this wonderful model.


Leave a Reply

