Computer Aided Origami Designs

Octagonal Collapse in Three by you.

blue orb by you.

So lately I have been sidetracked from my pleating by the ingenius Polly Verity.  She has inspired me to start playing with curves.  I bought a CAD program ViaCAD and have been rather obsessed lately, although that is starting to subside, more because the last two crease patterns I made didn’t work on the first try.  I tend to discard things if they don’t work the first time around, a habit I am working to get past.  So below are two crease patterns for two units and the pictures of what the finished units look like.  I highly recommend you score with a stylus or a dead pen before you fold the creases.  These can be tessellated and I recommend you use cardstock or some heavier paper although you can do them in copy paper.  The designs make me think of futuristic architecture and are surprisingly strong.

Blue orb mod with flattened rod connectors by you.

  Eggs in Lockdown by you.

 

Crease pattern for Eggs in Lockdown by you.

There are more crease patterns and designs here http://flickr.com/photos/christine42/ .  Everything is as usual creative commons release.

1 comment so far

  1. carl on

    Eh really cool site i you are a very focus enthusiatics fan of origami. i want a make a proposal i dare you if you can build a figher plane with origami in just 20 minutes all the video intructions are here just go to.

    http://origamistepsblog.findfastr.com

    or

    origami steps


Leave a Reply

