Archive for March 17th, 2008|Daily archive page

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day

000_8632.jpg

Oh St. Patty’s day is near!!!  For many (I am only speaking of Chicago, cause that’s what I know)  it is special day celebrated in any place that serves alcohol, by the Green Chicago River, or at the parade.  In honor of such a green holiday I am posting triangular pyramid tip box instructions and a Celtic cross modular (In deference to it being the holiday of a saint and all.)  The tip box is made from a bill and closes.  You can fit the coins that go with the tip in it.  Remember your server is harried and tip generously.  The box was inspired by this box from Lorenzo Marchi.  http://flickr.com/photos/lorenzomarchi/227362566/

The modular is of an almost identical unit that an Italian folder, Franco Pavarin, published, with one difference. I wrap a section around another section that forces a color change and it does change assembly methodology a bit.  Thanks to Mark Kennedy for helping me get the information to clear that up.  I like my unit better because it is stronger during assembly for at least the one completed modular.  I made two with his and as I found the assembly to be harder.  Soon I will post the 15 assembly varients I made. 

Tip Box Instructions

1.  Fold the creases as shown.  Make the crease bidirectional i.e. fold in in both directions.

2.  The vertices of the two squares are pulled down to meet each other.  This action cause the basic two triangular pyramids to form.

000_8668.jpg

3.  In the triangle that is in the middle you are pushing up the triangle tip.  You are using pre-existing creases.

4.  Inside I pink the edges of the pyramid and flatten them clockwise.  The second picture is what the bottom looks like.

5.  You are flipping up the rim of the top of the container all the way around.

6.  The bit of bill connecting the top and the bottom needs to be creased so the top can fit in the bottom.

7.  The extra flap needs to be folded so it is the same size as the rim.  I folded it in on pre-existing creases.

8.  The tips are folded in so that the flap can hold the lid closed.

 9.  Congratulations close the box…you are done.

