Dollar Bill Flower Module Diagrams

These are pictoral instructions.  They are not 100%, but they are what I’ve cobbled together for the moment.  You will need three or four dollars.  I don’t recommend hell or heaven money as they don’t hold all that well.

 1:  Fold the bill in half lengthwise and fold the corners down as indicated in the picture.

dollar-one.jpg

2:  You will unfold the corner tips and use them as a reference line to fold the edge to.  Refer to picture.

dollar-two.jpg

3:  Fold the edge back down and repeat on the other side. Refer to second picture (the dollar bill bustier:))

dollar-three.jpgdollar-four.jpg

 5:  Fold down the back triangles to match the front.

dollar-five.jpg

6:  Fold in half. 

dollar-six.jpg

7:  Mountain fold along the existing paper edge.  The pic on the right is what the unit looks like when you’ve opened the petal up.

 dollar-seven.jpgdollar-eight.jpg

8: You will need three or four completed units.

 dollar-nine.jpg

9:  You slide the tab into the pocket and keep doing that all the way around.

dollar-ten.jpg

10:  Put finger in each petal and open it up.  The more dollars the thinner the petal is.  The picture below is with four units.

dollar-finished.jpg

16 comments so far

  1. Eric on

    Thanks a lot. This looks like it will be a big help. I sort of ‘discovered’ you at PCOC and have since seen a lot of your work on the web. It is very impressive. Plus you’re a really nice person.

  2. papernclay on

    Thanks for sharing! This is a great model!

  3. Patti M on

    This is just what I was looking for!! Thanks!

  4. paola on

    I try to make but I don’t understand the step 6 and 7 you can help me????
    thanks a lot
    bye PAola

  5. lucy on

    the last picture is blurry and i cant see it and i cant finish the flower…. this sukcs >=/

  6. cedison on

    Paula and Lucy I posted three additional picks here.

    Reference dollar bill flower 1

    I hope they help.

  7. Samantha on

    This one is awesome! Please published additional instructions and photos. Cannot decipher steps # 7 & 8 even with the additional photos from Paula and Lucy.

    Thanks for sharing.

  8. cedison on

    Samantha I posted a video on flickr with two being connected hope that helps.

    000_9854
  9. Yousuf on

    Hey! Please respond to my post on Modular Origami. I’m dying to make that star model. 🙂

  10. cedison on

    Yousuf-I am currently not at home, but when I get home I will send you diagrams/pictoral instructions.

  11. Bill on

    Thanks for this. It is just what I was looking for. It looks very nice as the decoration on a package wrapped in brown paper. I used it instead of a bow, and since the gift was a piggy bank, it was very appropriate.

  12. River on

    My god.. where am i going wrong? My dollar seems to LOOK correct but i seem to be messing up from step 2 .. can i get some help? 😦

  13. River on

    i need help.. i must be making a mistake from step 2

  14. River on

    agh i got it lol
    i was making it alot more complicated than it really was 😛

  15. Phyllis on

    Thank you so much. I used this pattern to make a beatiful floral money bow for my grandmothers 89th birthday…she loved it. Everyone took lots of pictures.

  16. Dillon on

    OMG dude did you use a 100 dollar bill in the first picture??


Leave a Reply

