Wire Automata and Cola Light

Mrs. Walker is a wonderful art teacher at the school I work.  She drives the kids nuts by expecting them to do art, not just color.  So a kid was working in wire and after school that day I “stole” some wire(with her permission) and she lent me pliers after seeing me try to bend the wire by hand.  Thus came my calorie free cola.

000_5167.jpg

http://www.flying-pig.co.uk/ 

At her house I showed her the flying pig web site, thus disclosing my love of automata.  She lent me a lovely book and thus this “automata” was born.  I probably should have made a plan first, but I tend to jury-rig first and think later.

Gwetto

The ultimate goal is to make automata that deforms (expands/contracts) origami corrugations.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

