Mini Labrynth Tutorial

I have been asked to diagram the Labrynth and while I don’t mind posting diagrams for my work, crease patterns don’t really work on my designs as there are direction and angle of paper to be considered.  This caused me some problems as the process I used to do it was progressive, peculiar, and photographed with problems.  In the process I found that you can modify a “template” to create the same effect.  This will be a mini-tutorial.  It isn’t to scale, but you want to start out with a minimum of 32nds- equilateral triangles (I started with 64ths).  It doesn’t matter if you use a square, rectangle, hexagon, etc…  A certain level of folding is necessary.  The end result will be very similar if not exact.

  1. Use Eric Gjerde’s spread hex pdf, but use a twist in in the center (see picture). 
  2. Then make sure each layer shifts in direction.  The inner petals are clockwise and the next counterclockwise.  This pattern continues, ever expanding.
  3. Push in sections as shown in the picture. 
  4. Change which sections you push in for each layer.
  5. Continue as long as you want.  You can see my little tess with 16ths vertically is barely enough to show the pattern.

000_4977.jpg000_4978.jpg000_49792.jpg000_49811.jpg

http://www.origamitessellations.com/diagrams/spread-hex-tessellation/

Remember as usual everything is c.c., that includes Eric’s pdf.

3 comments so far

  1. Lorenzo Marchi on

    Hi Christine!
    Thank you very much for this…I have a question: have you use the same method with your snoflakes (and other) too? I mean working on the back, starting with flat and then pushing them?!? I really like your recent £d works! 😀

    thank you again for sharing 😀

  2. cedison on

    Sort of/or in parts. It is part of the overall process for some tessellations. In others I use a collapse. The push in (for the Labrynth) is something I realized when trying to photograph the process. When I made it I didn’t start with the template. I don’t use it when creating most things, but you could probably recreate some of it with that methodology. The Snowflakes does not use this process, but “Autumn Leaves” does.

  3. rock on

    good one

    rock n robot


Leave a Reply

